Become a laser hair practitioner in North Carolina
Make sure you have a current North Carolina electrology license
State law requires laser hair pracitioners to have an electrology license. If you're not licensed as an electrologist, please see the link below for information on how to get an electrology license.
Gather documents for your application
The license application requires you to submit various documents. Please gather the following documents that you'll need for your application.
- Documentation of your proof of age. To get a license, you must be at least 21 years old. You'll need to provide a certified copy of your birth certificate. If you can't get a certified copy of your birth certificate, you'll need to submit a written statement explaining why you can't provide it, along with another proof of age (such as a copy of a passport, marriage license showing age, or medical or school records showing date of birth).
- Copy of electrology license. Please submit a copy of your current electrology license.
- Certification of completion from your laser school, with verification of the number of hours completed in theory and clinical training.
- A passport-acceptable photograph. The link below has guidance on what kind of photo will qualify.
Submit the electronic supervisory agreement
Laser hair practitioners must be supervised by physicians licensed by the North Carolina Medical Board. You must have a supervisory agreement in place to get a laser hair license. Below is a link to an electronic signature process to complete the supervisory agreement.
Before you begin, make sure you have the following information:
- Physician's email address. Since we use the electronic signature process, we'll need to have an email address for the physician so the document can be routed. (This email address could be a business email address rather than a person address, as long as the physician has access to the business email address.)
- Information about the laser device(s), including the following.
- Serial number
- Optical sensitivity
- The start and end dates of the agreement. The end date cannot be more than two years after the start date.
Submit the application
Complete the license application and mail it with the following:
- The documents listed in the previous step; and
- A check, cashier check, or money order for $125.00 made out to North Carolina Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners. (You can include an additional $100.00 for the inspection of the location where you'll work if you plan to begin working as soon as you get licensed. However, you don't need to submit this payment until you're ready for the inspection.)
Please send the application to:
7001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-7000
Receive your license and prepare for inspection
After you've submitted a complete application, the staff will determine whether you qualify for a license. If you do, you'll receive your license. Please make sure your mailing address is up to date!
If you plan to work in a facility, you'll need to have your area inspected. If you haven't already paid the inspection fee, you'll first need to pay $100.00 for the inspection.