
CONTINUED ON THE NEXT PAGE 

State of North Carolina 
BOARD OF BARBER AND ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS 

7001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-7000 
Phone (919) 814-0640 ● Fax (919) 981-5068 

barbers.nc.gov ● barbers@nc.gov ● ncbee.com ● electrolysis@nc.gov 
 

 

PERSONAL AND BUSINESS INFORMATION 

 
 
Individual name: _________________________________________________________  
 
 
Business name: _________________________________________________________  
 
 
License number:  ____________________________   
 
 
Address line 1: __________________________________________________________  
 
 
Address line 2 (optional): __________________________________________________  
 
 
City:  __________________  State:  ________  ZIP:  _________________  
 
 
Phone:  _____________________________ Fax: ____________________________  
 
 
Email:  ________________________________________________________  
 
 
Website:  ________________________________________________________  
 
 
Does your practice include laser hair removal?  [   ] Yes [   ] No 
 
 
Status?  [   ] Self-employed  [   ] Employee [   ] Inactive 
 
 
If you checked inactive above, how many years have you been inactive?  __________  
 
 



 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 
Please attach copies (not originals) of any documentation showing continuing 
education. For your licensee to be renewed, you must have completed at least 10 
continuing education units (CEUs). There are limits on how may CEUs can be carried 
over. 
 
Have you included documentation of CEUs with this form? 
 

[   ] Yes, attached  [   ] No, because I have CEUs eligible for carryover 
 
 

FEES 

 
Please include the appropriate fees with this form, as listed below. You may make 
payment by check, cashier check, or money order made out to North Carolina Board of 
Barber and Electrolysis Examiners. Please place a check mark next to each payment 
type you’re including with this form. 
 

 License renewal ...................................... $125.00 per practitioner and location 
 Duplicate license .................................... $25.00 per copy 
 Inspection ............................................... $100.00 per practitioner and location 
 Laser hair instructor license renewal ...... $125.00 
 Late fee .................................................. $50.00 

 

EMPLOYEE CLASSIFICATION 

 
You must read the Public Notice Statement one the next page and answer the two 
questions below.  Please note that if you answer Yes to the second question, you must 
submit documentation.  Your renewal will not be processed without this 
information. 
 
1. Have you read and understood the Public Notice Statement below? 

[   ] Yes [   ] No 
 
2. Have you been investigated for employee misclassification? 

[   ] Yes [   ] No 
 
Please note: if you responded Yes to having been investigated for employee 
misclassification, you must submit the results of the investigation for review. 
 
Signature:  ________________________________________________________  
 
 
Date of signature: _______________________________________________________  



Public Notice Statement 
Required by N. C. Gen. Stat. § 143-789(a)(5) 

 
Any worker who is defined as an employee by N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 95-25.2(4) (NC 
Department of Labor), 143-762(a)(3) (Employee Fair Classification Act), 96-1(b)(10) 
(Employment Security Act), 97-2(2) (Workers' Compensation Act), or 105-163.1(4) 
(Withholding; Estimated Income Tax for Individuals) shall be treated as an employee 
unless the individual is an independent contractor. Any employee who believes that the 
employee has been misclassified as an independent contractor by the employee's 
employer may report the suspected misclassification to the Employee Classification 
Section within the North Carolina Industrial Commission. 
 

Employee Classification Section 
North Carolina Industrial Commission 
1233 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1233 
Telephone: (919) 807-2582, Fax: (919)715-0282 
Email: emp.classification@ic.nc.gov 

 
Employee misclassification is defined as avoiding tax liabilities and other obligations 
imposed by Chapter 95, 96, 97, 105, or 143 of the North Carolina General Statutes by 
misclassifying an employee as an independent contractor. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143-786. 

NOTE: don’t send this form to 
the address on the left. Only 
use that address to report 
suspected misclassification. 
Send this form to the address 
at the top of the front page. 


